Two apps dominate the off-road mapping argument — onX Offroad and Gaia GPS — and a dozen comparison articles will tell you which has the better trail database. Every one of those articles is written about the American West: rock crawling, forest service roads, land ownership, dispersed camping.
None of them is written about sand. Driving the beach here asks different questions. Which app knows the ORV ramps by number? Which one knows the corridor between two ramps is a route at all, rather than a blank beige strip? And when the Park Service closes three miles of Hatteras for nesting birds on a Tuesday, which app tells you?
That last one turns out to have a clean answer, and it is not the one we expected. We do not sell any of these products and there are no affiliate links on this page.
The short answer
For driving Cape Hatteras — onX Offroad, the cheaper Premium tier. It is the only one of the three that has the beach corridors drawn as navigable routes, ramp by ramp, with a difficulty rating and a note about the sand. Somebody at onX has actually been down here.
For Carova, north of Corolla — onX again, and this is the one place on the coast where the expensive Elite tier earns its keep. The drivable strand is public, but the dunes and the property behind them are private, and Elite is the tier that draws the parcel lines.
Gaia GPS is the better container and the worse guide. It imports more formats than onX, carries NOAA charts, and has no Outer Banks beach-driving content of its own at all.
Whichever you buy, none of them knows today’s closures. That is not a small caveat — it is the thing most likely to ruin your day, and the reason is worth understanding.
The surprise: onX has actually done the field work here
We expected to find that the Outer Banks was blank sand to both apps — a western product politely ignoring a barrier island. That is not what is there.
onX has published curated routes for the Cape Hatteras beach, by ramp number, each with a technical difficulty rating from one to ten, vehicle-class filters and notes on the sand. The Hatteras Beach 55 route is rated a six and warns that even well-equipped vehicles sometimes need winching. Frisco Ramp 49 is a five, with a note about very deep loose sand and the climb back out at the ramp. The Avon stretch carries the seasonal restriction in the route itself. There is a Carova route as well, running about eleven miles, that summarises the county’s tire-pressure ordinance, the summer parking permit and the fifty-foot wild horse law.
That is not scraped data. That reads like someone drove it.
Gaia is a different kind of product
Gaia has no curated beach-driving content for the Outer Banks — no route write-ups, no difficulty ratings, no vehicle filters. What it has is its base map, and Gaia’s own documentation says that map is built on OpenStreetMap.
That matters, because OpenStreetMap does carry the named ramps here — Ramps 2, 4, 23, 25, 27, 30, 32, 34, 38, 43, 44, 45, 48, 49, 55 and the soundside ramps, tagged as sand tracks, with several marked four-wheel-drive only. So Gaia will show you a labelled ramp. What it will not show you is the beach corridor between two ramps, because a beach is not a road and nobody has drawn it as one.
In practice: in Gaia, Ramp 23 is a short sand track that stops at the dune line. In onX, Ramp 23 to Ramp 25 is a route you can follow.
The thing none of them does: today’s closures
Cape Hatteras National Seashore closes stretches of ORV route through the spring and summer for nesting shorebirds and sea turtles. The closures move. A ramp that was open in May can be pedestrian-only in July and open again in October. This is the single most consequential piece of information for anyone planning to drive that beach, and it is the piece no app has.
We went looking for why, and the answer is upstream of the apps. The Park Service publishes beach access status as a hand-maintained web page, and nothing else. We pulled the page and searched it: no GeoJSON, no KML, no GPX, no mapping service, no news feed. The only machine-readable file linked anywhere in it is the site’s own app manifest. There is no feed to subscribe to, so nothing subscribes to it.
What onX offers instead is user-submitted trail reports — a driver taps a status and it sits on the route until somebody replaces it. That is a reasonable design for a forest road. On a beach with a nesting season, it ages badly.
What that looks like in practice, on September 3, 2026
onX, Cape Hatteras Ramp 23 to 25: the most recent report on the route is dated July 19, 2025. The three before it are from April 2025 and September 2023.
The Park Service, same ramp, page updated yesterday afternoon: Ramp 23 is a seasonal ramp, currently open to pedestrians only, with the ORV route opening on October 15, 2026.
The onX status happens to point the same direction today, by luck. It is still thirteen months old, posted by a stranger, and it has no expiry date on it.
This is not really a criticism of onX. No one has a feed to consume, so no one consumes it. The useful conclusion is about how you use whichever app you buy: treat the route as geography and never as status. Before you air down, check the Park Service’s own beach access page — it lives at go.nps.gov/beachaccess and it was updated the afternoon before we wrote this. The Seashore also runs a text alert: text CAHAORV to 333111. That is the whole of the real-time system, and it is free.
The free official map is a picture
The obvious question is whether you need any of this, given the Park Service publishes an ORV access map itself. We checked what that file actually is.
It is a JPEG. About 1.7 megabytes, last modified on July 29, 2025, and still the 2025 edition as of today. Not a PDF, not geo-referenced, no coordinate information embedded in it at all.
That matters more than it sounds. Apps like Avenza exist precisely to carry official agency maps offline and show your position on them — but they need a geo-referenced file to do it. A plain JPEG has no idea where it is, so it cannot show you where you are. You can save it to your phone and read it like a paper map. You cannot navigate on it.
So the free option is genuinely useful and genuinely limited: the authoritative picture of which ramps exist, with no ability to place you on it. Print it, save it, and pair it with something that does know where you are.
What they cost
Read from the vendors’ own pricing pages and the US App Store listings on September 3, 2026. App pricing moves — the date is on the table for a reason.
| onX Offroad | Gaia GPS | NPS map | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Yes — basemaps, waypoints, tracking, one offline map | Yes, but no offline download | Free, and that is the whole product |
| Paid | Premium $34.99/yr; Elite $99.99/yr | Premium $59.90/yr | — |
| OBX beach routes | Yes — curated, ramp by ramp, difficulty rated | Ramps only, from OpenStreetMap; no corridors | Shown on the picture |
| Live closure status | No — user reports only | No | Yes — the only source there is |
| Shows your position | Yes | Yes | No — it is a plain JPEG |
| Private parcel lines | Elite tier | Premium (view-only on Android) | No |
| Imports | GPX on mobile, GPX and KML on the web | GPX, KML, KMZ, GeoJSON, plus custom map sources | — |
| Difficulty ratings | Yes, 1–10, with vehicle class filters | None | None |
| iPhone rating | 4.4 stars, about 9,500 ratings | 4.8 stars, about 32,000 ratings | — |
One number worth pausing on: both apps rate far worse on Android than on iPhone. onX sits around 4.4 stars on the App Store and about 3.6 on Google Play; Gaia is 4.8 against roughly 3.4. Gaia’s is the wider gap and the recent Android and CarPlay complaints are pointed — which matters here, because a dash-mounted phone is how people actually drive sand. If you are on Android, weigh that.
The seven-day trial is exactly one Outer Banks week
This is the part that changes the maths for a lot of people, and it took a reader pointing it out for us to look at it properly.
onX offers a seven-day free trial of Elite — the top tier, not the cheap one. onX’s own pricing page says that during the trial you get the satellite, topo and hybrid maps, open and closed off-road trails, the Featured Trails write-ups, and unlimited offline maps. That last one matters more than it sounds: the permanent free tier caps you at a single offline map, and offline is the whole ballgame south of Oregon Inlet.
Now hold that against how people actually come here. The classic Outer Banks rental week runs, in the words of one of the big local agencies, “Saturday to Saturday, every week, all summer. It was tidy, predictable, and for a long time, it worked.” Flexible any-day stays are spreading, but the seven-night week is still the shape of the trip for most visitors.
Seven days of trial, seven nights of vacation. Which cuts both ways, and the second half is the part nobody tells you:
- Start it the day you arrive and it covers your whole week, at the tier we said is otherwise hard to justify. If you are going to Carova, the trial hands you the parcel-boundary layer — the one feature genuinely worth having up there — for nothing, for exactly as long as you need it.
- Start it while you are planning at home and it expires somewhere around Wednesday of your trip, which is the worst possible outcome. Download your offline maps and then let it run out is not a plan; the maps go when the membership does.
- There is no slack in it. Seven and seven is a dead heat. If your stay runs eight nights, or you like to plan the route before you leave home, you are paying for something.
One honest caution, because we went looking and could not answer it: onX’s pricing page does not state the cancellation or renewal terms for the trial. Read them at signup, and if you do not intend to keep it, set a reminder for day six. That advice costs onX a subscription and costs us nothing, since nobody pays us either way.
Where onX’s headline feature is worth paying for — and where it is not
onX sells itself on private and public land boundaries. On this coast that feature splits cleanly in two, and knowing which half you are in saves you sixty-five dollars a year.
On Cape Hatteras it is close to pointless. The Seashore is federal land, the ORV routes run on the federal beach, and what governs your access is a closure order, not a property line. The villages are the only place ownership matters and you are not driving the beach through them. Premium’s public-land layer covers everything you need.
At Carova it is the best argument for the app on the whole coast. The strand is a public vehicular area, but Currituck’s own visitor authority puts it plainly: the dunes and the property behind them are privately owned. That four-wheel-drive area is a grid of private lots with sand streets running between them, and people end up in someone’s yard without meaning to. Elite’s parcel boundaries describe exactly that.
We could not independently verify how complete onX’s parcel data is in Currituck County specifically, so treat that as the claim onX makes rather than one we have checked.
Which one you should actually buy
- You drive Hatteras a few times a year. onX Offroad Premium. The routes are there, the difficulty notes are useful, and the parcel layer buys you nothing on federal beach.
- You drive Carova. onX, and Elite is defensible here for the parcel lines. Read the county rules first — they are textual, not geographic, and no app enforces them.
- You already own Gaia and do not want a second subscription. Keep it. Add the Park Service map to your phone for the ramps, and use the beach access page for status. Gaia will hold your own recorded tracks better than onX will, and it imports more formats.
- You are here for one week and one week only. Start onX’s seven-day Elite trial on arrival day, not before. It is the same length as a classic Saturday-to-Saturday rental week and it includes unlimited offline maps.
- You want to spend nothing. The Park Service map plus the beach access page plus the text alert covers the two things that actually get people in trouble: where the ramps are and whether they are open. It just will not show you where you are.
- You are on Android. Try both free tiers on your own phone before paying either. The Android builds of both apps rate a full star lower than the iPhone builds, and the complaints are about crashing and dash integration rather than maps.
- You also run a boat here. Gaia carries NOAA charts, which is a genuine point in its favour — though for the water itself we would still run something purpose-built, which is what our chart app comparison is about.
What none of them do
- Tell you today’s closures. Covered above. Check the Park Service page.
- Know the tide. Neither app predicts it, and on a narrow beach the tide decides whether the route exists. High water against the dune line is how vehicles end up in the surf. Our sister site covers beach driving and tides.
- Know the sand. A difficulty rating is an average of somebody else’s day. Soft sand after a dry week, a fresh cut after a blow, a washout at a ramp — none of that is in any database.
- Replace airing down. No app has ever pulled anybody out. Air down before the ramp, and carry the gear the permit requires.
- Get you a permit. Cape Hatteras requires an ORV permit, obtained through the Park Service, and Currituck requires a parking permit in season. Neither app issues them or checks them. See the Cape Hatteras ORV permit and the Corolla parking permit.
What we have not done
We have not run these two apps side by side on the same beach on the same day. Everything above comes from the vendors’ own pricing pages, documentation and store listings, from the Park Service’s published maps and beach access page, from Currituck County, and from OpenStreetMap’s own data — all checked in September 2026, all linked, all things you can check yourself.
The onX route details come from onX’s public trail pages, not from inside the app, so we cannot tell you how they render on a phone in the dunes.
On money: neither company pays us, and there are no affiliate links on this page. Both run affiliate programs, on the same network, at broadly similar rates — so there is no commercial reason for us to prefer one over the other. If that ever changes, this box will say so before the recommendation does.
Asked and answered
What is the best app for beach driving on the Outer Banks?
onX Offroad, for most people. It is the only one of the main options that carries the Cape Hatteras ORV beach as curated routes by ramp number, with difficulty ratings and notes on the sand, plus a route for the Carova four-wheel-drive beach. The cheaper Premium tier is enough for Cape Hatteras; the Elite tier is only worth it at Carova, where private property lines actually matter.
Does onX Offroad cover the Outer Banks?
Yes, more than most people expect. onX publishes curated routes for the Cape Hatteras beach by ramp number, each with a technical difficulty rating and notes on sand conditions, plus an eleven-mile Carova route that summarises the county tire pressure ordinance, the summer parking permit and the fifty-foot wild horse rule.
Does any app show current Cape Hatteras beach closures?
No. The National Park Service publishes beach access status as a hand-maintained web page with no data feed of any kind, so no third-party app can ingest it and none does. onX shows user-submitted trail reports instead, which can be many months old. Check the Park Service beach access page directly, or text CAHAORV to 333111 for alerts.
Can I use the official Park Service ORV map in a mapping app?
Not as a positioned layer. The Park Service publishes its Cape Hatteras ORV access map as a plain JPEG image, not a geo-referenced PDF, so apps like Avenza cannot place you on it. You can save it to your phone and read it like a paper map, but it cannot show you where you are.
onX Offroad or Gaia GPS for the Outer Banks?
onX for beach driving here. Gaia has no curated Outer Banks beach content; its base map is built on OpenStreetMap, which carries the named ramps but not the drivable corridor between them. Gaia is the better tool if you want to import your own files, keep your own tracks, or carry NOAA charts, and it is the one to keep if you already pay for it.
Do I need a permit to drive on the beach at Cape Hatteras?
Yes. Cape Hatteras National Seashore requires an ORV permit, obtained through the National Park Service, and you must watch an informational video first. Required equipment includes a low pressure tire gauge, a shovel, a jack and a jack support board. The Currituck beach north of Corolla is separate and requires a county parking permit in season.
Is the onX Offroad free trial enough for a week at the Outer Banks?
Very possibly. onX offers a seven-day free trial of its top Elite tier, which includes unlimited offline maps, and the classic Outer Banks rental week is seven nights, Saturday to Saturday. Start the trial on the day you arrive rather than while planning at home, or it will expire mid-trip. Check the cancellation terms at signup, because onX’s pricing page does not state them.
Is the free version of onX Offroad or Gaia GPS enough?
onX’s free tier lets you download one offline map, which may be enough for a single stretch of beach. Gaia’s free tier does not allow offline downloads at all, which makes it hard to rely on where signal is thin. Neither free tier carries the curated route data or the land ownership layers.
Checked against the sources
Prices, tiers, versions and ratings were read from onX’s own pricing page and from the US App Store and Google Play listings for both apps on September 3, 2026. Gaia does not publish prices on its website, so its figure comes from the App Store listing and may differ from checkout on the web.
The closure comparison is ours, made on September 3, 2026: the dates on onX’s Cape Hatteras Ramp 23 to 25 route were read off that public trail page, and the ramp status from the National Park Service beach access page, which carried an update stamp from the previous afternoon. Both change — check them yourself rather than trusting this paragraph next season.
The Park Service ORV map was checked as a file: it returns as a JPEG image, about 1.7 MB, last modified July 29, 2025. The absence of a data feed is our own check of the beach access page for mapping, location and news formats; we found none. Ramp coverage in OpenStreetMap was queried directly from OSM. Carova’s OpenStreetMap coverage we could only partly confirm.
Permits, equipment and local rules are from the National Park Service and Currituck County. Rules change — check the official pages before you go. This is general information, not driving advice, and no app or web page replaces the signs at the ramp. Last checked: September 2026.

